How to pack for a staycation

I’ve never been one to do smart packing whenever I go on vacation. I deliberate for a very long time over the clothes/shoes that I should bring along, often changing my mind at the last minute even though clothes have already been folded into the suitcase. Most times, the toiletries take up the most space and are the heaviest in my entire suitcase, which is ironic when I’d always set out to “travel light”. You’d think that I might have an easier time if it’s just a short trip but alas, the same issues will always surface.With the year-end in sight, the BF and I thought it’d be a good idea to go on a staycation given that it’s so expensive to travel overseas during this period. I try to be efficient this time by packing lightweight outfits – dresses that are easy to pack and won’t crease. These are easier to move around in humid Singapore and paired with my trusty pair of Birkenstocks, I’m all ready to conquer the local attractions.

I find it very useful to pack my stuff into pouches for easy differentiation and packing. Pouches for toiletries, undergarments, clothes, make-up, accessories etc, you get the drift. And needless to say, I’ve once again relied on this trusty packing method for the upcoming staycation. Tip, buy pouches with cheery colours. They look SO much better when you peer into your suitcase/travel bag.

This toiletries bag can store a lot. Never regretted buying this from Naraya (Thailand).

This toiletries bag can store a lot. Never regretted buying this from Naraya (Thailand).

Also from Naraya, this one is padded and stores my undergarments.

Also from Naraya, this one is padded and stores my undergarments.

Bag organisers are extremely useful especially if you're the sort who carries huge bags. This organiser comes with 6 side compartments and a giant one in the middle for wallets/sunnies/tissue etc.

Bag organisers are extremely useful especially if you’re the sort who carries huge bags. This organiser comes with 6 side compartments and a giant one in the middle for wallets/sunnies/tissue etc.

 

One thought on “How to pack for a staycation

  1. Smart! I agree with you. And even on vacation, I like to pack into “sub-categories” so if airport screening personnel make me open my bags to rummage through, things are still neat & tidy!

Leave a Reply

