Fall-ing for Target

I have no pretension about clothing: price is usually important to me than brand, so Target is a common go-to for wearable basics. On a recent trip, I picked up the following items as we transition into Fall:


Top of the list: Tuxedo jacket by Kirna Zabête for Target – $34

Admittedly, I’ve never heard of this brand despite its claims to be some high fashion store in Manhattan. Probably that explains why I found this on the clearance rack, rather than the recent frenzy that was Missoni for Target.

I’ve been wanting a tuxedo jacket for a while now, and this one is PERFECT! Pairs with jeans + killer heels for a casual yet dressy combination; or over a dress for some warmth even when dolled up.

Shown here paired with Mossimo silk top ($10, Target clearance last year); Levi’s jeans ($16, Costco)


Now, this grey cardigan was THE reason why I was at Target in the first place! It’s a shawl collar open cardi (Mossimo, $16), very soft and light, perfect for Los Angeles Fall. Paired with a dark blue striped camisole ($4). I foresee wearing this cardigan a LOT.


This one’s NOT a Target purchase, but I thought it might pair well with the outfit: grey chunky infinity scarf from Etsy seller AnytimeScarf. I bought this in anticipation for Fall/Winter and figured it would go well with my existing trenchcoats (not shown here).


A wardrobe staple: blue v-neck longsleeved cotton top for $8. These are perfect for layering as we transition into Fall, then Fall-Winter. I like how the blue goes with the light grey scarf!

And finally… The Husband convinced me that I look good in CORAL, so I actually bought it!! Having serious doubts now and considering a return. Check out my look of apprehension….


What do you say? Yea, or nay? Should I keep this and attempt to get enough wear out of it, or just give up and stick with grey?

Update: A few days later, I returned the coral cardigan, convinced that I wouldn’t get enough wear out of it. Wop wop wop….

7 thoughts on “Fall-ing for Target

      • Good to start trying to wear it more often, perhaps? 😉 You actually look great in bright colors – just look at the photo of the electric blue sweater you modeled!

  1. Pingback: Top of the class: Closet GPA | The Clueless Closettes

Leave a Reply

