Budget Beauty: Dark Spot Correctors

Darn be the sun, that I have existing/some new freckles due to extended sun exposure despite my daily use of SPF. I’ve been wanting to get my hands on Clinique’s Dark Spot Corrector for a while now, ever since I first saw their “quail’s eggs” ads.

$49.50 (1 oz) or $76 (1.7 oz)

Unfortunately, once again, I wasn’t able to stomach the price, especially since reviews aren’t all that impressive, and a bottle doesn’t even last that long:

(From Clinique’s website)

During my last trip to Malaysia, I came across this L’Oreal Day & Night spot corrector:

It was very inexpensive at about US$8, so I stocked up on 3 tubes to give it a shot.

Basically you use the “concealing treatment” in the daytime under your make-up, and the “spot corrector essence” at night. I apply it immediately after the Hada Labo toner and a few minutes before regular moisturizer.

I have to admit that I haven’t been the most conscientious about using this because it’s an additional step, so I use this probably about 4 to 5 times in an entire month at most, which probably isn’t the best indicator of its effectiveness.

Verdict: When I DO use this regularly (i.e.: a few days in a row), I have noticed that the dark spots appear lighter, and the surrounding skin also seems less dull.

I’m pretty convinced that this product does work, but only if it is used consistently and regularly. There is also a limit to how much improvement can be achieved (at least in my personal experience). For US$8, it is certainly a very good Budget Beauty buy!

Read more Budget Beauty posts!

Leave a Reply

