Budget Beauty: Hada Labo versus SK-II

In today’s Budget Beauty series, this is a BIG one to tackle. Both are Japanese products, both are applied the same way, with a “patting motion”. Of course, both are also immensely popular products/brands in their own right — at least in Asia.

SK-II Facial Treatment Essence has been touted as “miracle water”, with everyone from Hong Kong A-listers to Hollywood maven Cate Blanchett (one of my favorite women in the world!) endorsing its supposedly incredulous effects. That said, this also carries an A-List price: US$195 for 7.2oz

I have never personally finished using a bottle of this in order to truly speak of its effects, but I had, over a 3-month period, used 10 pieces of the SK-II Facial Treatment Masks, and I honestly couldn’t say that the product resulted in any sort of memorable outcome at all. (It was a gift, in case you were wondering why I would spend so much money on my face). On the downside, I really wasn’t a fan of the fermented “rice wine” smell.

Who knows, maybe if I had religiously used this Facial Essence day-and-night over an extended duration, it might have helped lightened my freckles and sun exposure spots? But that’s an unknown for now.

What I do use, however, is Hada Labo Shirojyun Lotion (Whitening version), and again, while I did not see any dramatic difference within a short span of time, my skin isn’t worse off from using it – I started using this in early August. I see it as an additional form of care for my skin, a precursor to the moisturizer.

5.7oz for $19.99

Verdict: I haven’t been noticing any dramatic lightening effects on my sun-afflicted freckles yet, and I honestly like the regular Hada Labo Gokujyun Lotion better (which I had been using prior to this whitening one). I will probably switch back to the regular version after I finish this bottle.

Is SK-II Facial Treatment Essence worth the price? I can’t say for certain, but using the masks which were infused with the treatment essence certainly did not work for me. Does anyone have an SK-II experience to share?

Read more Budget Beauty posts!

2 thoughts on “Budget Beauty: Hada Labo versus SK-II

  1. Pingback: SK-II LXP Ultimate Perfecting Essence | The Clueless Closettes

  2. Pingback: SK-II Product Reviews | The Clueless Closettes

Leave a Reply

