Diversions

Yours truly has had two rather awful days in a row. So today, while some awfulness was being rectified (iMac being serviced at the Genius Bar), I sought a diversion, something frivolous that would try and dispel some of the “I-want-to-kill-something-NOW-with-my-bare-hands” energy.

So I decided to window shop instead. First stop: Anthropologie. Aaaaah…. and indeed, it soothed the savage beast.

For those not familiar with this store, Anthropologie presents itself as eclectic – almost as if it’s a bohemian-esque thrift store. It makes you think it’s artisan and Fair Trade, even though it’s not. The whole store has a high-end shabby chic look, from the faux distressed floorboards, to the elaborate store displays made out of vintage books.

Anthropologie also focuses on great service. While I was browsing the clearance section with a few items draped on my arm, a staff member asked if I wanted to have a fitting room started for me. I accepted, so she got my name and took the items from me. After I was sated from browsing, I headed to the fitting rooms and found my name written in a pretty script on the mirrored plaque on the door. The entire area was subtly-lit, glowing warmly, with generous sheer drapes adding an ethereal quality to an otherwise utilitarian space. Brilliant retail psychology tactic, lulling you with the luxe treatment so that you may part with your pretty penny.

Along with the outfits I picked out, I found an addition piece of clothing with a tag on it saying “We thought you might like this too.” Smart move, trying to slip in something that they felt fit my ‘style profile’. Though there were a few things I really liked in the store, I didn’t try them on because, well, I obviously have no intention to purchase a $259 dress. So all the following items are from the clearance section.


First up: A twist-front teal top with a braided strap, $29. Usual price $69.
I quite liked this top, and could envision cinching it with a woven belt on a breezy summer day. However, the Size S (above) gaped too much at the armholes. XS was apparently was in-stock at the Beverly Hills outlet and could have it shipped to me for free, but I wasn’t that interested, so I passed.


Next: STRIPES! I am definitely partial to stripey-ness, so I was already hoping this blue/grey off-shoulder combination would work for me. At $19, I was ready to purchase too, so I did. It’s less drab in person, and also fits better than this picture shows.

Of course, the model wears it like this on their website:

I clearly should pick up some posing tips and start practicing my spaced-out look.


Yes. More stripes. This photographs better than in real life. I wasn’t a big fan of the green – reminded me too much of Singapore’s trash cans.


When poking around the stationery section, I saw these “Apparel Tags”. Seems like one would have issues if you have that much clothing that you can’t remember them. Could be useful for a wardrobe assistant on set I guess.

At this point, a quick check at the Apple store showed that the iMac was still in severe triage mode, so I descended from the frou-frou of Anthropologie, to fast & cheap H&M. Literally half the store was on sale, with racks full of $5 dresses, $3 tees, $7 pants, $10 jackets etc.

I quickly perused the super-sale stuff – nothing – and then picked out a few other things to try. No pretty lighting here. Just a harsh halogen beam from above.


Black & White polka-dotted top – $17.
It looks really cool in real life, looks very much like dots made with a Chinese calligraphy brush. I loved the fit, so I bought this, and its counterpart in black too. Yes, yes, I know….


Next: Assymetrial hi-lo maxi-dress. $29.
I’ve been wanting a maxi-dress so bad, but somehow they’re no more to be found?! This one has a high/low hem-line, which really wasn’t flattering for me as it drew attention to my chubby knees and chunky calves.


Blue summer dress with crochet detail. $17.95 I think?
This worked well for my upper body, but where it hits again emphasizes my chubby knees. I never thought I’d hate my knees, but nowadays I do.


I don’t think she would hate her knees.


Lavender/Grey “tulip” dress. $32.95.
My favorite dress of the day. It is such a flattering dress – save for the chubby knees – which can be rectified by wearing suitable high heels. Well, this was too pretty for working in (I wear black dresses every weekend for work), much less for running around in heels with. So… lovely as it was, back to the rack it went.


I picked this out for fun, the dress version of the first top. It’s the same “tulip” cut as the lavender/grey dress above. Shows off the curves nicely while hiding the unflattering bits.

At the end of the day, I acquired 3 tops – which happen to be monochromatic – for under $60. Did not intend to make these purchases, but the what the heck, at least I didn’t kill anyone.

9 thoughts on “Diversions

  1. That stripey top is so you! Oh and I like the summer blue dress and that lavender piece. Too bad you didn’t get them.

    • I had to hold it a certain way for it to look flattering though 😐 The quest for a maxi dress continues….

  2. Pingback: Work Clothes « The Clueless Closettes

  3. Pingback: All Black « The Clueless Closettes

  4. Pingback: Cheap & Chic « The Clueless Closettes

Leave a Reply

